m: 07572 544 623 e: enquiries@sewjanetmoville.co.uk

Reviews

It’s so important to be able to read unbiased reviews from students who have attended classes previously.  I find it gives confidence to others considering the same or similar courses and we now have the added benefit of working in a super new purpose built studio!

Thank you all for contributing to my success!

Many thanks to all who have taken the time to write reviews. it is particularly heartening  to see that my contribution makes such a difference. Seeing students progress in skills and confidence is very rewarding and is one of the reasons I set up the school in 1995. It’s also very encouraging for students considering joining a class.

 Janet Moville, founder of the Modern Approach Sewing School

Reviews

Janet is very nice. I am learning a lot with her. She is very patient with all of the students and she makes you feel very comfortable. I am Spanish and my English is not very good but she does an extra effort for me to explain me the words I don't understand. She will help with everything: patterns, fabric (I am very bad in that), design... Lessons are 3 hours but as you are so comfortable time flies. There is only one bad thing and it is you would like to spend there the entire day. Thanks you so much Janet

Alexandra Solera, November 11, 2020

Review: Enjoying sewing classes with Janet, a very patient, methodical teacher, always inspiring and in a league of her own! I would recommend classes to anyone, nothing is too much trouble. From Novice to Experienced Sewers, Janet has a wealth of Knowledge in all areas.

Karen Beckett, November 10, 2020

Review: I have been sewing all my life but was never happy with the fit or results. On retirement I looked for a sewing class near me and was fortunate enough to find Modern Approach. Janet is the most patient of teachers, always ready to pass on her knowledge and expertise. Her pattern and garment fitting is amazing and I am so happy with the results. My confidence has soared and I so look forward to my Thursday classes

Beryl Bourne, November 9, 2020

Review: I thoroughly enjoy my weekly sessions with Janet. I’ve learnt tons of skills & gained a wealth of knowledge which I wouldn’t get from simply watching videos. I feel the studio provides a relaxed and stimulating environment conducive to learning, with all the tools and equipment needed to complete your chosen project. Janet is approachable and is always ready to guide and share her knowledge and expertise. I’ve been able to grow to become a confident sewer.

Neeta Mistry, November 8, 2020

I've been working with Janet on a personal project for my work on Mental Health for over a year and she is outstanding. Her technical skills, knowledge and professionalism are hands down amazing. Not only that - throughout lockdown her efforts to continue assisting personal projects online and creating weekly projects to help her school has been a Saviour. Thank you so much Janet.

Sara Nowell, November 8, 2020

Janet provides a way for you to learn to sew what you want to make, at a pace that suits you. No matter what project you want to work on she will have a way to do it. Clothes that will actually fit you, home furnishings, couture, she can do it all. A small friendly group, or one to one sessions. Highlight of my week going.

Jayne Diamond , November 8, 2020

I started in September. My previous sewing experience was over 30 years ago using my Mum's old Singer sewing machine.. Which I have to say was ancient.. All of the students are of varying ages and different levels of experience working on different projects. Janet is a whirlwind of activity, so patient and encouraging.. Really enjoy attending..

Elaine Foster , November 8, 2020

I’ve been attending Janet’s classes for over ten years and absolutely love them. There is nothing she cannot help with. I’m a fairly experienced sewer and I’m still learning from Janet. She always has a better method that gives professional results. Her studio is brilliant - she has everything you need in terms of materials and equipment and it gives you a chance to try out different machines from domestic sewing machine to overlockers, blind hemming, cover stitch machine and even an industrial machine - I love it! I have covered a wide range of skills with Janet from pattern drafting, tailoring, soft furnishings to bag making, always learning more modern and less labour intensive techniques. I’ve had 1-1 sessions and also attend her weekly afternoon classes which I enjoy because sewing with a like-minded group of people is fun and we all learn from each other’s projects. I bought my 8 nieces a beginner sewing class with Janet as a Christmas present- they absolutely loved their bespoke day with her . To me, if you are a complete novice or an experienced sewer, you will get so much from Janet at The Modern Approach Sewing School.

Cath Walsh, November 8, 2020

I attended the beginners session in August after covid had delayed my initial session back in March. I had a fantastic day and learnt so much from Janet! Although there were 5 of us it felt like we were receiving one to one tuition as Janet was so helpful and a great teacher. I didn’t expect my tote bag to be as good as quality as what it turned out to be and that’s all down to Janet’s teaching. I only signed up for the one day, but I’m hoping to book onto another soon. Thank you so much Janet, it was a much needed day of creativity and fun!

Liz Welch, September 12, 2020

Like to add a review? Chose one of the options below:

  1. Complete this form!

    • Click on the course in courses and workshops that you'd like to review and write a comment
    • Visit my page on Yell.com and leave your review
    • Leave your comment on my Facebook or Twitter page by clicking on the link on the home page.

    Customer Gallery